Presidents Cup opens Thursday

Sept. 26, 2007 at 9:30 PM

MONTREAL, Sept. 26 (UPI) -- The seventh Presidents Cup matches begins Thursday with Tiger Woods making what is expected to be his final appearance of 2007.

Woods, who finished off his overwhelming summer by capturing the first FedEx Cup competition, will join 11 teammates as they attempt to defeat the International Team for the fifth time.

Six fourball matches will be played Thursday at the Royal Montreal course with 36 matches scheduled in all before the Presidents Cup concludes Sunday.

Woods will team with Charles Howell III in the sixth match Thursday as they take on K.J. Choi and Nick O'Hern.

O'Hern has twice defeated Woods in the World Match Play Championship.

Play will begin with Hunter Mahan and Steve Stricker meeting Adam Scott and Geoff Ogilvy. The remaining matches will include Phil Mickelson-Woody Austin vs. Vijay Singh-Mike Weir, Stewart Cink-Zach Johnson vs. Rory Sabbatini-Trevor Immelman, David Toms-Jim Furyk vs. Ernie Els-Angel Cabrera and Lucas Glover-Scott Verplank vs. Stuart Appleby-Retief Goosen.

Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Trending Stories
SB50: Denver Broncos face tough call at QB in 2016
Johnny Manziel's ex-girlfriend claims he hit her
NFLPA hopes to have independent arbitration for player discipline next season
Watch every star-studded Super Bowl commercial of 2016
Group recreates 'Mario Kart' video game at UK mall