2017 NHL awards roundup: Edmonton Oilers' Connor McDavid wins Ted Lindsay Award

By The Sports Xchange  |  June 21, 2017 at 9:54 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
| License Photo

The NHL's yearly awards were announced in Las Vegas on Wednesday night at T-Mobile Arena as part of the expansion draft announcements by the Vegas Golden Knights.

Edmonton Oilers forward Connor McDavid was named the recipient of the Ted Lindsay Award, which is the league's best player as voted on by the NHLPA. He beat out San Jose Sharks defenseman Brent Burns and Pittsburgh Penguins center Sidney Crosby.

McDavid scored the most points (100) in the 2016-17 regular season to win his first Art Ross Trophy. He also led the NHL in assists (70), points per game (1.22), even strength assists (45) and even strength points (71).

Boston Bruins center Patrice Bergeron won the Frank J. Selke Trophy as the league's best defensive forward for a record-tying fourth time. In second-place was Ryan Kesler of the Anaheim Ducks followed by Mikko Koivu of the Minnesota Wild.

Burns took the James Norris Memorial Trophy as the league's best defenseman, beating out Erik Karlsson of the Ottawa Senators and Victor Hedman of the Tampa Bay Lightning.

Burns set franchise records for goals (29) and points (76) by a defenseman. He became the first defenseman to record back-to-back 75-plus point seasons since Brian Leetch achieved the feat with the New York Rangers in 1995-96 and 1996-97.

Toronto Maple Leafs center Auston Matthews has won the Calder Memorial Trophy as the NHL's rookie of the year.

Matthews, a near unanimous choice (164 of 167 first-place votes) beat out forward Patrik Laine of the Winnipeg Jets, and defenseman Zach Werenski of the Columbus Blue Jackets .

Matthews led all rookies with 40 goals and 69 points while appearing in all 82 games this past season after being selected first overall in the 2016 draft. Matthews set franchise rookie records for goals and points.

Ottawa goaltender Craig Anderson earned the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy, awarded annually to the NHL player who "best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey." Anderson recorded a successful season for the Senators while supporting his wife, Nicholle, in her fight against a rare form of throat cancer.

On the administrative end, David Poile of the Nashville Predators was named the General Manager of the Year and Columbus Blue Jackets coach John Tortorella earned the Jack Adams Award as the league's top coach.

Poile's work helped the Predators earn a postseason berth for the 10th time in 13 seasons and advance to the Stanley Cup Final for the first time. Under Tortorella, the Blue Jackets (50-24-8, 108 points) set franchise records for wins, points, home wins (28) and road points (51). The club posted a 32-point gain over 2015-16, jumping from 29th to 2nd in team defense.

Trending Stories