NHL All-Star rosters completed

Jan. 16, 2003 at 10:36 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

NEW YORK, Jan. 16 (UPI) -- Linemates Markus Naslund and Todd Bertuzzi were among three Vancouver Canucks added Thursday to the Western Conference team as the NHL released its complete rosters for next month's All-Star Game.

Naslund and Bertuzzi will be joined by defenseman Ed Jovanovski, giving Canucks Coach Marc Crawford three of his own players on Feb. 2 at the Office Depot Center in Sunrise, Fla.

In the Eastern Conference, right wing Marian Hossa and defenseman Zdeno Chara of the Ottawa Senators will join their coach, Jacques Martin, at the 53rd annual All-Star Game.

Reserves were selected by the NHL hockey operations department after consulting with the league's general managers.

Hossa, who turned 24 on Sunday, is second in the NHL with 30 goals, just two shy of a career high. Chara, at 6-9 and 260 pounds the tallest and heaviest player in the league, already has established a career best with 24 points.

Other wingers on the East squad are Calder Trophy winner Dany Heatley of the Atlanta Thrashers, Glen Murray of the Boston Bruins, Jeff O'Neill of the Carolina Hurricanes and Martin St. Louis of the Tampa Bay Lightning.

Centers added to the team were Montreal Canadiens captain Saku Koivu, Jeremy Roenick of the Philadelphia Flyers, Toronto Maple Leafs captain Mats Sundin and Bruins captain Joe Thornton.

Other reserve defensemen on the Eastern Conference squad are Sergei Gonchar of the Washington Capitals, Roman Hamrlik of the New York Islanders and Scott Stevens of the New Jersey Devils.

Ed Belfour of the Maple Leafs and Martin Brodeur of the Devils will back up Lightning goaltender Nikolai Khabibulin.

Starters were selected by fan balloting and feature Pittsburgh Penguins teammates Mario Lemieux and Alexei Kovalev, Capitals winger Jaromir Jagr and defensemen Brian Leetch of the New York Rangers and Sandis Ozolinsh of the host Florida Panthers.

On the Western Conference team, Jocelyn Thibault of the Chicago Blackhawks and Marty Turco of the Dallas Stars will spell Colorado Avalanche goalie Patrick Roy. Turco is one of three Stars in the West lineup, joining starters Mike Modano and Bill Guerin.

On defense, Eric Brewer of the Edmonton Oilers, Al MacInnis of the St. Louis Blues and Mathieu Schneider of the Los Angeles Kings join Jovanovski on the bench.

Marian Gaborik of the Minnesota Wild, 2002 Hart Trophy finalist Jarome Iginla of the Calgary Flames, Paul Kariya of the Mighty Ducks of Anaheim and Ray Whitney of the Columbus Blue Jackets were added at wing.

Reserve centers are Sergei Fedorov of the Detroit Red Wings, Peter Forsberg of the Avalanche and Doug Weight of the Blues.

The other Western Conference starters are Teemu Selanne of the San Jose Sharks at wing and Rob Blake of the Avalanche and Nicklas Lidstrom of the Red Wings on defense.

The Buffalo Sabres, Nashville Predators and Phoenix Coyotes are the only teams without All-Star representatives.

After five years of pitting North America and the World, the All-Star Game returns to an East-West format.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories