'View,' 'Ellen,' 'Jeopardy!' and 'Y&R' win Daytime Emmys

Whoopi Goldberg's The View won the Daytime Emmy for Outstanding Talk Show -- Informative on Friday. File Photo by John Angelillo/UPI
Whoopi Goldberg's "The View" won the Daytime Emmy for Outstanding Talk Show -- Informative on Friday. File Photo by John Angelillo/UPI | License Photo

June 26 (UPI) -- The View and The Ellen DeGeneres Show were among the winners at the Daytime Emmy Awards' virtual prize presentation Friday.

The programs earned the Outstanding Informative and Entertainment talk show awards, respectively.


Kelly Clarkson -- who leads The Kelly Clarkson Show -- was named Outstanding Entertainment Talk Show Host.

The Today Show won the Emmy for Outstanding Morning Show, while Jeopardy! was named Outstanding Game Show and its star Alex Trebek was declared Outstanding Game Show Host.

Entertainment Tonight won the Emmy for Outstanding Entertainment News Show, Giada Entertains won for Outstanding Culinary Show and The People's Court won for Outstanding Legal/Courtroom Show.

The Young and the Restless was voted Outstanding Drama and cast members Jason Thompson and Bryton James won the Outstanding Lead and Supporting Actor honors, respectively.

The Bold and the Beautiful won the prizes for Lead Actress for Heather Tom and Outstanding Writing Team, and General Hospital was recognized for Outstanding Directing Team and Outstanding Supporting Actress for Tamara Braun.

The online Emmys event aired on CBS and streamed on CBS All Access thanks to videoconferencing technology in keeping with social distancing practices intended to slow the spread of the coronavirus.


The Talk stars Sharon Osbourne, Sheryl Underwood, Eve, Carrie Ann Inaba and Marie Osmond hosted the ceremony.

Presenters and other celebrities who appeared throughout the 2-hour program include Gayle King, Kelsey Grammer, Melody Thomas Scott, Kathie Lee Gifford, Cookie Monster, Scott Evans, Patrika Darbo, Kevin Frazier, Wayne Brady, Michael Strahan, James Reynolds, Jacqueline MacInnes Wood, Maurice Benard, Kelly Ripa, Ryan Seacrest, Nate Burleson, Sunny Hostin and Eric Braeden.

ABC's General Hospital went into the competition with a leading 23 nominations.

This is the 14th time the awards ceremony aired on CBS. The last time was in 2011, and the event has been streamed online since 2016.

Latest Headlines