House Democrats reappoint leaders

Nov. 17, 2004 at 6:33 PM

WASHINGTON, Nov. 17 (UPI) -- U.S. House Democrats re-elected their leadership Wednesday, but the question of who will lead the election-oversight position in their caucus remains open.

The five-member leadership team was unanimously re-elected by the Democratic Caucus and includes Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi of California, Minority Whip Steny Hoyer of Maryland, Democratic Caucus Chairman Bob Menendez of New Jersey, Caucus Vice Chairman James Clyburn of South Carolina and Assistant to the Minority Leader John Spratt of South Carolina.

However, it remains unclear who will replace Rep. Bob Matsui of California as head of the Democratic Congressional Campaign Committee, who oversees the electioneering actions of the House Democrats and is said to not want to continue in the post.

Reportedly under consideration for the post are Reps. Mike Thompson of California, Rahm Emanuel of Illinois and Joseph Crowley of New York.

Pelosi's choice is expected in December.

Follow us on Facebook, Twitter, and Instagram for more news from
Related UPI Stories
share with facebook
share with twitter
Trending Stories