This week in auto racing: Who is racing, NASCAR schedule, how to watch

By The Sports Xchange  |  July 12, 2017 at 5:31 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
| License Photo

MONSTER ENERGY NASCAR CUP SERIES: OVERTON'S 301 (301 laps, 318.46 miles on a 1.058-mile oval), New Hampshire Motor Speedway; Loudon, N.H.

TV: Sunday, 3 p.m. ET -- NBCSN (Radio: Performance Racing Network/SiriusXM NASCAR radio).

THIS WEEK: This will be the 45th NASCAR Cup race held at New Hampshire Motor Speedway. ... Matt Kenseth is the defending winner of this race (also won the fall 2015 race there). Kevin Harvick won last fall's playoff race. ... Martin Truex Jr. won this past Saturday night's race at Kentucky Speedway. It was Truex's third win of the season. ... Kyle Larson remains atop the NASCAR Cup standings (710 points). Truex Jr. is second (709 points), followed by Kyle Busch (609), Harvick (599), Chase Elliott (560), Jamie McMurray (545), Denny Hamlin (538), Brad Keselowski (536), Jimmie Johnson (519) and Clint Bowyer (495).

NASCAR XFINITY SERIES: OVERTON'S 200 (200 laps, 211.6 miles on a 1.058-mile oval), New Hampshire Motor Speedway; Loudon, N.H.

TV: Saturday, 4 p.m. ET -- NBCSN (Radio: Performance Racing Network/SiriusXM Channel 90).

THIS WEEK: This will be the 31st Xfinity Series race at New Hampshire. ... Busch won this race last year, his fifth Xfinity win at New Hampshire in the last eight races there. ... Busch won last Saturday's Alsco 300 race at Kentucky Speedway. ... Elliott Sadler (578 points) remains No. 1 in the Xfinity driver rankings. William Byron remains second (533), followed by Justin Allgaier (520), Daniel Hemric (396), Brennan Poole (395), Cole Custer (368), Matt Tifft (357), Ryan Reed (354), Dakoda Armstrong (338) and Michael Annett (334).

NASCAR CAMPING WORLD TRUCK SERIES: There is no race this weekend. The next race is the Eldora Dirt Derby on Wednesday, July 19, at Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio.

THIS WEEK: Christopher Bell won his series-leading third race of the season, capturing last Friday's Buckle Up In Your Truck 225 at Kentucky Speedway. ... Johnny Sauter (464) remains No. 1 in the point standings, followed by Bell (436), Chase Briscoe (390), Matt Crafton (375), Ben Rhodes (330), Grant Enfinger (316), Ryan Truex (315), John Hunter Nemechek (308), Noah Gragson (299) and Kaz Grala (266).

VERIZON INDYCAR SERIES: HONDA INDY TORONTO, (85 laps, 151.8 miles on a 1.786-mile street course), Exhibition Place; Toronto.

TV: Sunday, 3:40 p.m. ET -- CNBC; Radio: IndyCar Radio Network.

THIS WEEK: This will be the 11th IndyCar race to be run through the streets of downtown Toronto. ... Will Power is the defending winner. Power and Scott Dixon both have two wins each in the event's first 10 races. ... Helio Castroneves won this past Sunday's Iowa Corn 300 at Iowa Speedway. J.R. Hildebrand was second, followed by Ryan Hunter-Reay. ... Winners of the first 11 races have been Sebastien Bourdais (St. Petersburg), James Hinchcliffe (Long Beach), Josef Newgarden (Alabama) Simon Pagenaud (Phoenix), Power (IndyCar Grand Prix), Takuma Sato (Indy 500), Graham Rahal (both Belle Isle races), Power (Texas), Scott Dixon (Road America) and Castroneves (Iowa). ... Dixon (403 points) remains No. 1 in the IndyCar standings, followed by Castroneves (395 points), Pagenaud (372), Power (350), Newgarden (347), Rahal (337), ato (337), Tony Kanaan (295), Alexander Rossi (290) and Max Chilton (268).

NATIONAL HOT ROD ASSOCIATION, MELLO YELLO DRAG RACING SERIES: No race this weekend. The next race is the Mopar Mile-High Nationals, July 21-23, at Bandimere Speedway in suburban Denver.

THIS WEEK: The NHRA kicked off the second half of the 24-race season this past weekend at Route 66 Raceway in Joliet, Ill. Winners were Steve Torrence (Top Fuel), Ron Capps (Funny Car), Drew Skillman (Pro Stock) and L.E. Tonglet (Pro Stock Motorcycle. Capps now has six wins this season, Torrence has five, Tonglet four and Skillman earned his first win of 2017, becoming the ninth different driver to win in Pro Stock. ... Points leaders: Top Fuel -- Torrence (1,188), Leah Pritchett (1,087), Antron Brown (1,085), Tony Schumacher (894) and Doug Kalitta (813); Funny Car -- Ron Capps (1,208), Matt Hagan (1,022), Jack Beckman (914), Robert Hight (853) and Tommy Johnson Jr. (833); Pro Stock -- Bo Butner (1,148), Greg Anderson (1,009), Tanner Gray (944), Jeg Coughlin (856), Jason Line (856); Pro Stock Motorcycle -- Tonglet (601), Eddie Krawiec (460), Hector Arana Jr. (419), Scotty Pollacheck (381) and Jerry Savoie (379).

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories