New York Knicks' Tom Thibodeau wins second Coach of the Year award

New York Knicks' Tom Thibodeau wins second Coach of the Year award
New York Knicks head coach Tom Thibodeau, shown May 14, 2015, won the award for the first time as coach of the Chicago Bulls in 2011. File Photo by Brian Kersey/UPI | License Photo

June 7 (UPI) -- New York Knicks head coach Tom Thibodeau has won the NBA's Coach of the Year award for the second time in his coaching career, it was announced Monday.

Thibodeau, who improved the Knicks' win total by 20 this season, edged out Phoenix Suns head coach Monty Williams for the honor. Utah Jazz coach Quin Snyder finished third in the voting.


The 63-year-old Thibodeau previously won the award while coaching the Chicago Bulls in 2011.

"Any time you get an award like this, I'm obviously honored, but it's more a reflection of our group and our organization," Thibodeau said on TNT's Inside the NBA while accepting the award.

Under Thibodeau, Knicks forward Julius Randle won the league's Most Improved Player award last month. R.J. Barrett also took a major step forward in his second season and rookie Immanuel Quickley made immediate contributions for the Knicks, who reached the playoffs for the first time since the 2012-13 season.


"Julius was special. He set the tone from day one, but R.J. Barrett made a huge leap this year, and then we've got two young guys that brought great energy every day and got better each and every day in Immanuel Quickley and Obi Toppin," Thibodeau said.

RELATED Milwaukee Bucks' Jrue Holiday wins NBA Sportsmanship Award

"The whole team, from top to bottom, they were very special. They were very tight, hard-working, and gave everything they had each and every day."

Williams earned more first-place votes (45) than Thibodeau (43) and was named on 96 ballots -- compared to Thibodeau's 95. Thibodeau, however, edged Williams after receiving 10 more second-place votes.

NBA Coach of the Year voting results:

1. Tom Thibodeau (New York Knicks) - 351 total points

2. Monty Williams (Phoenix Suns) - 340 total points

3. Quin Snyder (Utah Jazz) - 161 total points

4. Doc Rivers (Philadelphia 76ers) - 24 total points

5. Nate McMillan (Atlanta Hawks) - 12 total points

6. Steve Nash (Brooklyn Nets) - 7 total points

7. Michael Malone (Denver Nuggets) - 5 total points

Latest Headlines


Follow Us