Two Chicago Cubs win Gold Gloves

By The Sports Xchange  |  Nov. 9, 2016 at 12:30 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
1 of 3
| License Photo

Two players from the World Series champion Chicago Cubs won Rawlings Gold Glove Awards on Tuesday as right fielder Jason Heyward won his fourth and first baseman Anthony Rizzo claimed his first.

Other first-time winners included San Francisco Giants catcher Buster Posey and second baseman Joe Panik; Cleveland Indians shortstop Francisco Lindor; Boston Red Sox right fielder Mookie Betts, who is an American League MVP finalist; Texas Rangers first baseman Mitch Moreland; Detroit Tigers second baseman Ian Kinsler; New York Yankees left fielder Brett Gardner; and Atlanta Braves center fielder Ender Inciarte.

The Giants had the most Gold Glove winners with three as shortstop Brandon Crawford won his second award. Texas third baseman Adrian Beltre claimed his fifth -- the most among this year's winners.

Kansas City Royals catcher Salvador Perez and Colorado Rockies third baseman Nolan Arenado won their fourth.

Arizona Diamondbacks right-hander Zack Greinke and Houston Astros left-hander Dallas Keuchel each claimed their third, while Pittsburgh Pirates left fielder Starling Marte and Tampa Bay Rays center fielder Kevin Kiermaier won their second.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories