U.S. captain Jay Haas could pick son for Presidents Cup

By The Sports Xchange
Bill Haas. Photo by Kevin Dietsch/UPI
Bill Haas. Photo by Kevin Dietsch/UPI | License Photo

Jay Haas must weigh whether to use one of his captain's picks on son Bill Haas after the younger Haas failed to earn automatic qualification for the United States' Presidents Cup team Monday.

The top 10 players in the point standings made the team, and Bill Haas wound up 11th.


Jordan Spieth, Bubba Watson, Jimmy Walker, Zach Johnson, Jim Furyk, Rickie Fowler, Dustin Johnson, Patrick Reed, Matt Kuchar and Chris Kirk played their way onto the U.S. team for the match-play event that will be held at Jack Nicklaus Golf Club Korea in Incheon City, South Korea, from Oct. 6-11.

Walker, Fowler, Reed and Kirk will be in the Presidents Cup for the first time. Furyk will participate for the eighth time.

"To finally make a Presidents Cup Team, that's always been a goal of mine," Fowler said in a press release. "I'm one-for-one over there (winning a tournament in South Korea), so I might as well go over and make it two-for-two. They have some great fans over there. It's a huge golf country. I'm looking forward to playing with some of my fellow Americans and some of the best players in the world. It's going to be a great match."


Spieth added, "Everyone says it's an honor, everyone says that it's very special to them, but experiencing that flag going up and that National Anthem and being announced, 'Now representing the United States of America,' that sentence right there, that's what gives you goosebumps and it doesn't happen very often."

The International team, featuring all non-European players, includes Australia's Jason Day, South Africa's Louis Oosthuizen, Australia's Adam Scott, Japan's Hideki Matsuyama, South Africa's Branden Grace, Australia's Marc Leishman, India's Anirban Lahiri, South Africa's Charl Schwartzel, Thailand's Thongchai Jaidee and New Zealand's Danny Lee.

Lahiri, Jaidee and Lee are all Presidents Cup rookies. Scott is set for his seventh Presidents Cup.

Among the players Jay Haas could consider for his two captain's picks, which will be announced Tuesday, are the next 10 in the point standings, in order: Bill Haas, J.B. Holmes, Charley Hoffman, Billy Horschel, Brandt Snedeker, Webb Simpson, Robert Streb, Kevin Na, Harris England and Brooks Koepka.


International captain Nick Price's options for his two selections could include Australia's Steven Bowditch, South Korea's Byeong-Hun An, Australia's John Senden, Australia's Matt Jones, Thailand's Kiradech Aphibarnrat, Japan's Hiroshi Iwata, Australia's Cameron Smith, South Korea's Sangmoon Bae and South Africa's Tim Clark.

The United States teams holds an 8-1-1 record in the Presidents Cup, including an 18 1/2-15 1/2 win in 2013 at Muirfield Village in Dublin, Ohio.

Latest Headlines