Rickey Henderson on Hall of Fame ballot

Dec. 1, 2008 at 2:32 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
| License Photo

NEW YORK, Dec. 1 (UPI) -- All-time stolen base leader Rickey Henderson is among 10 players on the 2009 Baseball Hall of Fame ballot for the first time.

Henderson played 25 seasons in the major leagues, having spent times with nine different teams, including four stints with the Oakland Athletics. He scored 2,295 runs and finished with 1,406 stolen bases. Henderson amassed 3,055 hits, including 297 home runs.

His 81 home runs to lead off a game represent a record, as does his 130 stolen bases in 1982.

Other first-time nominees are: Jay Bell, David Cone, Ron Gant, Mark Grace, Jesse Orosco, Dan Plesac, Greg Vaughn, Mo Vaughn and Matt Williams.

With 13 holdovers from previous ballots, the total of 23 players to be considered for induction into the Baseball Hall of Fame is the smallest in history. Notable names among the holdovers are Jim Rice, who was 16 votes short of being awarded a place in the Hall of Fame last year, and Andre Dawson, who was 50 votes short.

Players must be selected on 75 percent of the ballots returned by eligible voting members of the Baseball Writers' Association of America. Results of the voting is to be released Jan. 12.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories