California becomes the first state to put in place a law that will bring its minimum wage to the $10 per hour threshold, with Maryland, Massachusetts, Illinois and Minnesota considering similar legislation, the National Employment Law Center, based in Washington, said in a statement.
California's minimum is now $8 an hour. It will go to $9 on July 1 and reach $10 on Jan. 1, 2016.
Brown said the increase in the minimum wage will provide much-needed assistance to working families and boost economic growth, the statement said.
The Law Center said the most rigorous economic research indicates raising a state's minimum wage boosts worker pay without creating job losses, even in regions with weak economies or high unemployment.
LGBT community has 'bullied the American people': Bachmann
Astronomers offer more expansive view of universe