'Smash' soundtrack set for release

April 3, 2012 at 8:48 PM
| License Photo

UNIVERSAL CITY, Calif., April 3 (UPI) -- NBC and Columbia Records say the soundtrack from the first season of the American musical series "Smash" will be released next month.

Due out May 1, the album will feature Katharine McPhee, Megan Hilty and other cast members performing the original music created for the show's narrative and for the musical-within-a-musical. It will also include some of the pop tunes adapted for the series, such as Christina Aguilera's "Beautiful."

Produced by Steven Spielberg, "Smash" already has been renewed for a second season. It co-stars Debra Messing, Tom Levitt, Jack Davenport, Raza Jaffrey, Brian d'Arcy James and Jaime Cepero.

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Jill Duggar and Derick Dillard depart for overseas missions trip
Christie Brinkley congratulates ex Billy Joel on new marriage
Ben Affleck, Jennifer Garner vacation amid divorce announcement
Elizabeth Olsen accidentally flashes underwear in Paris
Amy Schumer nails 'Real Housewives' audition