Johnson gets 8th career Martinsville win

April 7, 2013 at 6:27 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

MARTINSVILLE, Va., April 7 (UPI) -- Jimmie Johnson took his eighth career Martinsville Speedway crown and became the first repeat winner this year at Sunday's STP Gas Booster 500.

After the starting the race as the pole-sitter, the five-time Sprint Cup Series champion led 346 of the 500 laps.

Only Richard Petty with 15 and Darrell Waltrip with 11 have more triumphs than Johnson at the Martinsville track.

Johnson, who also won the Feb. 24 season-opening Daytona 500, grabbed a six-point lead over sixth-place finisher Brad Keselowski with the victory.

Clint Bowyer finished second, followed by Hendrick Motorsports' Jeff Gordon and Kasey Kahne.

Kyle Busch, coming off a victory at Fontana, Calif., two weeks ago, rounded out the Top 5.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories