Maddux leads NL Gold Glove winners

Nov. 5, 2008 at 6:13 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

NEW YORK, Nov. 5 (UPI) -- LA Dodgers pitcher Greg Maddux and Philadelphia shortstop Jimmy Rollins led this year's National League Gold Glove winners announced Wednesday.

Maddux, 42, has won the honor in 18 of his 22 major league seasons with the Chicago Cubs, Atlanta, San Diego and the Dodgers.

The latest extended an 18-year major league record.

Reports earlier this week said the 355-game winner has not made a decision about retiring.

Rollins earned his second straight Gold Glove while helping the Phillies win the World Series for the first time since 1980, ending the city's 25-year major sports title drought.

He committed only seven errors in 593 total chances for a .988 fielding percentage.

Other NL winners were New York Mets third baseman David Wright, teammate, center fielder Carlos

Beltran, St. Louis catcher Yadier Molina, San Diego first baseman Adrian Gonzalez, Cincinnati second baseman Brandon Phillips, Pittsburgh left fielder Nate McLouth and Phillies center fielder Shane Victorino.

American League winners will be announced Thursday.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories