Donald Sutherland to receive an honorary Oscar

By Karen Butler  |  Sept. 7, 2017 at 9:13 AM
share with facebook
share with twitter
1 of 2
| License Photo

Sept. 7 (UPI) -- Filmmaker Charles Burnett, cinematographer Owen Roizman, actor Donald Sutherland and director Agnès Varda are to receive honorary Oscars in Los Angeles Nov. 11.

The Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences voted Tuesday night to present the four artists with Oscar statuettes at the academy's 9th annual Governors Awards at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland Center.

"This year's Governors Awards reflect the breadth of international, independent and mainstream filmmaking, and are tributes to four great artists whose work embodies the diversity of our shared humanity," Academy President John Bailey said in a statement Wednesday.

Trending Stories