Cruise, Ryan named 1994 Hasty Pudding pot winners

CAMBIDGE, Mass. -- Tom Cruise and Meg Ryan Monday were named the 1994 winners of the Man and Woman of the Year awards by Harvard University's Hasty Pudding Theatricals, the oldest undergraduate dramatic group in the nation.

Ryan will be saluted with a parade through Harvard Square on Feb. 15, while Cruise will receive his traditional pot on Feb. 22.


Both will be escorted by male student actors dressed in traditional drag.

Both will receive traditional Pudding Pots.

The awards are presented annually to performers who have made a 'lasting and impressive contribution to the world of entertainment.'

Ryan was cited for charming audiences in a wide variety of films, including 1993's blockbuster 'Sleepless in Seattle' opposite Tom Hanks.

Hasty Pudding noted that Cruise has become one of the most successful actors in Hollywood history. His films, including the recent 'The Firm' and 'A Few Good Men,' have grossed more than $2 billion.

Cruise and Ryan join a long list of celebrities to win the award, including last year's recipients, Whoopie Goldberg and Chevy Chase.

Other woman of the year winners include Jodie Foster, Diane Keaton, Glenn Close, Kathleen Turner, Lucille Ball and Bernadette Peters.

Previous men of the year award winners include Michael Douglas, Clint Eastwood, Kevin Costner, Robin Williams, Steve Martin, Mikhail Baryshnikov and Sylvester Stallone.

Latest Headlines