Concealed-carry law signed in Arkansas

Feb. 23, 2013 at 5:31 PM

LITTLE ROCK, Ark., Feb. 23 (UPI) -- Arkansas Lt. Gov. Mark Darr, describing himself as an enthusiastic backer of gun rights, has signed a concealed-carry law.

Darr, a Republican, was standing in as acting governor Friday for the state's Democratic governor, Mike Beebe, who had said he would let the bill become law without signing it, KHOZ-AM, Harrison, reported.

"Having been an outspoken advocate for Second Amendment rights, I felt passionately that there should be no delays in signing this bill into law," Darr said. "Within the bill is an emergency clause which states that once this bill is signed the state of Arkansas can no longer publicly release records concerning persons licensed to carry a concealed handgun or those applying for such a license. The release of such records is an invasion of privacy and threatens the safety and property of the persons identified."

Gun shops that offer concealed-carry classes in Arkansas say they have waiting lists, KARK-TV, Little Rock, reported. Don Hill, owner of Don's Weaponry in North Little Rock, said he offers a class every two weeks and they always fill up quickly.

The classes include 5-6 hours in the classroom plus time on the gun range. Hill said more women have been signing up for the class.

Related UPI Stories
Topics: Mike Beebe
Latest Headlines
Trending Stories
Russia says missiles aimed at Syria did not land in Iran
Tunisian democracy advocates win Nobel Peace Prize
Captive orca breeding banned at California's SeaWorld
Wrong drug used in Oklahoma execution
Pentagon to ditch $500M Syrian rebel training program