Lidstrom again a Norris Trophy finalist

April 22, 2008 at 4:13 PM
1 of 3
| License Photo

TORONTO, April 22 (UPI) -- Detroit's Nicklas Lidstrom, Boston's Zdeno Chara and Calgary's Dion Phaneuf were announced Tuesday as finalists for the NHL's James Norris Trophy.

The Norris Trophy is given to the NHL's top defenseman. Lidstrom has won the honor five of the last six seasons, losing out to Scott Niedermayer in 2003-04.

Lidstrom score 10 goals and had 60 assists in 76 games this season in helping the Red Wings to the NHL's President's Trophy. Only two players -- Boston's Bobby Orr (eight Norris Trophies) and Montreal's Doug Harvey (seven-time winner) -- have won the honor more than Lidstrom.

Chara totaled 51 points on 17 goals and 34 assists while Phaneuf had 43 assists and 17 goals for 60 points.

The award, decided on a vote of members of the Professional Hockey Writer's Association, is to be announced June 12 in Toronto.

Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Eric Hosmer, Kansas City Royals continue to have a blast
Chicago White Sox continue surge with win vs. Boston Red Sox
Golden State Warriors' Steve Kerr having back surgery
New York Mets' Noah Syndergaard shuts down San Diego Padres
Chris Davis powers Baltimore Orioles past Atlanta Braves