Presenters announced for News Emmys

Aug. 30, 2005 at 3:55 PM

NEW YORK, Aug. 30 (UPI) -- ABC's Elizabeth Vargas, Bob Schieffer of CBS and PBS's Charlie Rose will be among the presenters at the 26th Annual News and Documentary Emmy Awards.

Also presenting awards at the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences in New York Sept. 19 will be Telemundo's Jose Diaz-Balart and CNN's Christiane Amanpour, TV Week reported on its Web site.

The event will include a tribute to ABC News anchor Peter Jennings, who died Aug. 7, the Academy announced.

HBO Documentary and Family President Sheila Nevins will receive the first lifetime achievement award for a documentary maker and retired CBS news anchor Dan Rather will also be honored.

Both Nevins and Rather are scheduled to be part of a panel discussion at Fordham University the morning of the awards ceremony, TV Week said.

Like Us on Facebook for more stories from UPI.com  
Latest Headlines
Top Stories
Prince William and Kate Middleton's daughter Princess Charlotte has been christened
'The Chew' to tape five episodes at Disney's Epcot International Food & Wine Festival
George Takei apologizes for calling Clarence Thomas a 'clown in blackface'
Watch Kate Hudson sing 'The Star-Spangled Banner' for the 4th of July
Ashton Kutcher and Mila Kunis reportedly wed in secret ceremony