Jump to
Latest Headlines Collections
share with facebook
share with twitter
1 of 9
Caltech's Kip Thorne and Barry Barrish, along with MIT's Rainer Weiss, Win 2017 Nobel Prize in Physics
Rainer Weiss at home early this morning, October 3, 2017, after learning that he has won the 2017 Nobel Prize in physics. The 2017 Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded on October 3, 2017, to three of the founders of the Laser Interferometer Gravitational-wave Observatory (LIGO): Caltech's Kip S. Thorne and Barry C. Barish, and MIT's Rainer Weiss. On September 14, 2015, LIGO made the first-ever direct detection of gravitational waves, or ripples in the fabric of space and time, which had been predicted by Albert Einstein 100 years earlier. Photo by M. Scott Brauer/MIT/UPI
| License Photo
Nobel Prize News
First Prev Page 1 of 11 Last Next