NHL releases new division names, schedule

Posted By CAROLINE LEE, UPI.com  |  July 19, 2013 at 3:02 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
| License Photo

The NHL has announced its new division names that will go into effect the 2013-14 season. The teams are divided into the seven-team Pacific and Central divisions in the Western Conference and eight-team Metropolitan and Atlantic divisions in the Eastern Conference.

NHL deputy commissioner Bill Daly said player names were considered for the division names but "dismissed rather quickly." "Flortheast" was somewhat jokingly suggested for the Atlantic Division because of its geographically odd pairing of Florida teams with the Detroit Red Wings, Boston Bruins, Montreal Canadiens, Buffalo Sabres, Toronto Maple Leafs and Ottawa Sentators.

The season opener will start with the Washington Capitals playing Stanley Cup champion, the Chicago Blackhawks, on Oct. 1. The season will host 1,230 games and end April 13, 2014, and each team will play in all 30 arenas at least once during the season. The Stanley Cup playoffs will follow, beginning April 16.

Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Trending Stories