Listen to Pink's whole album before its release

Posted By GABRIELLE LEVY,  |  Sept. 17, 2012 at 2:31 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
1 of 3
| License Photo

Excited for Pink's new album, "The Truth About Love"? No need to wait to pick it up in stores, you can listen to the whole thing online.

The singer released the entire album as lyric videos on YouTube several days in advance of the Tuesday release, making further evidence that the music recording has shifted away from disc sales-dependent. The Internet, particularly piracy sites such as Napster, Limewire, and Pirate Bay, has been the great liberator of music. It's estimated that, between 2004 and 2009, 30 billion songs were illegally downloaded. And though music piracy declined in 2011, revenue from music sales also fell.

Simply put, people purchase fewer CDs, and more individual tracks. Perhaps by offering a preview of the new material, Pink is hoping to encourage people to buy the individual tracks they already know they like.

"The Truth About Love" is Pink's first album since her 2008 release, "Funhouse," which peaked at No. 2 on the U.S. Billboard charts, and since the birth of her daughter in 2011. The first single from the new album, "Blow Me (One Last Kiss)," reached No. 9, in July, and the second single, "Try" was released last week.

1. "Are We All We Are?" 2. "Blow Me (One Last Kiss)" 3. "Try" 4. "Just Give Me a Reason" (featuring Nate Ruess) 5. "True Love" (featuring Lily Rose Cooper)

6. "How Come You're Not Here?" 7. "Slut Like You" 8. "The Truth About Love" 9. "Beam Me Up" 10. "Walk of Shame" 11. "Here Comes the Weekend" (featuring Eminem) 12. "Where Did the Beat Go?"

13. "The Great Escape"

Related UPI Stories
Latest Headlines
Trending Stories