Nobel Prize in Literature awarded to British author Kazuo Ishiguro

By Sara Shayanian  |  Oct. 5, 2017 at 7:32 AM
share with facebook
share with twitter
1 of 2

Oct. 5 (UPI) -- The 2017 Nobel Prize in Literature was awarded Thursday to British author Kazuo Ishiguro.

The awarding Swedish Academy said of Ishiguro, "who, in novels of great emotional force, has uncovered the abyss beneath our illusory sense of connection with the world."

Notable works by Ishiguro include The Remains of the Day, An Artist of the Floating World, and Never Let Me Go.

Ishiguro, who was born in Nagasaki, Japan, in 1954, has been a full-time author since the release of his first book, A Pale View of Hills, in 1982.

"The themes Ishiguro is most associated with are memory, time, and self-delusion," the Nobel biography said. "This is particularly notable in his most renowned novel, The Remains of the Day, which was turned into a film with Anthony Hopkins acting as the duty-obsessed butler Stevens."

Ishiguro is known for his carefully restrained mode of expression throughout his works, independent of whatever events are taking place. However, his recent works have included some fantasy elements.

Aside from the Ishiguro's eight books he has written, the author has also written scripts for film and television.

Other Nobel Prizes will be awarded over the next few days: peace on Friday and economics on Oct. 9.

Trending Stories