Two new states added in Darfur

KHARTOUM, Sudan, Jan. 11 (UPI) -- President Omar al-Bashir has added two states in Sudan's Darfur region, bringing the total for the area to five.

Bashir's decree creating the states of Eastern and Central Darfur is in line with the Doha Document for Peace in Darfur, the Sudan Times reported Tuesday. The document signed by the government and the Liberation and Justice Movement in 2008 in an effort to end civil war in the region called for the division.


In other decrees, Bashir replaced Abdul Hakam as governor of West Darfur with Haydar Koma, a leader of the Liberty and Justice Movement. The president also named Hamad Ismail Abdul Karim, a former supporter of the Popular Congress Party led by Islamist leader Hassan al-Turabi, as governor of South Darfur.

Latest Headlines