4 presidential candidates yield to Aquino

May 11, 2010 at 10:38 AM
share with facebook
share with twitter

MANILA, Philippines, May 11 (UPI) -- Four candidates have conceded to Philippine Sen. Benigno Aquino III, the front-runner in the country's presidential elections, officials said Tuesday.

Sens. Manuel Villar and Richard Gordon, former Defense Secretary Gilbert Teodoro and J.C. de los Reyes of the Ang Kapatiran Party issued separate statements that they were dropping out of the race and expressed their support for Aquino, expected to be proclaimed the next president, the Philippine Daily Inquirer reported.

"The Filipino people have decided. It is clear that despite our efforts, we were not blessed to win in Monday's elections," Villar said in a statement Tuesday. Villar was considered Aquino's closest rival in the race.

Gordon asked his volunteers to "support the new government," the Daily Inquirer said.

Even though he conceded the race, De los Reyes said he not give up "the platform I was tasked to push, which is to finally enact the anti-dynasty law and abolish pork barrel" spending.

He also expressed support for Aquino in "efforts we have in common," the newspaper said.

Teodoro said he might seek another position "if there would be a new system of government."

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories