Watch live: Israel, N. Korea, Canada, Afghanistan speak on final day at U.N.

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi addresses the 76th Session of the U.N. General Assembly in New York City on Saturday. Pool photo by Eduardo Munoz/UPI | License Photo

Sept. 27 (UPI) -- Leaders from several nations will speak on Monday on the final day of the debate portion of the United Nations General Assembly in New York City -- including Israel, Canada, France, North Korea and war-torn Afghanistan.

Israeli Prime Minister Naftali Bennett is scheduled to make his address first to open the early session at U.N. headquarters.


The speakers were not specified for the rest of the nations on the schedule Monday.

The early session begins at 9 a.m. EDT.

One country that's missing from the list this year is the now-military government of Myanmar. Initially, a member of the ousted government was intended to speak.

The military junta removed the civilian government following a coup in February and jailed leader Aung San Suu Kyi and much of her cabinet. The military argued that the elections that kept them in power last fall were fraudulent.

Myanmar was on the original list of countries set to address the General Debate, but U.N. spokesman Stephane Dujarric told The New York Times on Saturday that it's no longer scheduled to participate.

RELATED Iran's foreign minister says U.S. to blame for lack of progress on revived nuclear deal

Afghanistan, however, remains on the list of speakers -- but by early Monday it still wasn't known who the speaker will be, or whether it would be a member of the ruling Taliban or the exiled Afghan government.

Palestinian President Mahmoud Abbas was sharply critical of Israel in his speech to the assembly last week, in which he accused the country of ethnic cleansing and apartheid in its efforts to occupy Palestinian regions.

The General Debate portion of the General Assembly began last Tuesday and will conclude after the speakers Monday afternoon.

RELATED Indian PM Modi touches on Afghanistan, pandemic in U.N. address

Early session (begins at 9 a.m.)

  • Israel Prime Minister Naftali Bennett
  • Belarus
  • Yemen
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Syrian Arab Republic
  • Iceland (prerecorded)
  • Algeria
  • Grenada
  • Eritrea (prerecorded)
  • Bahrain
  • San Marino (prerecorded)
  • Oman (prerecorded)
  • Sao Tome and Principe
  • Cote d'Ivoire
  • Brunei Darussalam (prerecorded)
  • Mauritania
  • Niger
  • France (prerecorded)
  • Cameroon

Afternoon session (begins at 3 p.m.)

  • Congo
  • Dominica (prerecorded)
  • Morocco (prerecorded)
  • Mozambique
  • Trinidad and Tobago (prerecorded)
  • Tunisia
  • Nepal
  • Nicaragua
  • Canada
  • North Korea
  • Guinea
  • Afghanistan
  • Timor-Leste

Latest Headlines


Follow Us