Honolulu council bans smoking in cars with minors

By Ray Downs  |  Oct. 22, 2017 at 7:13 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
| License Photo

Oct. 22 (UPI) -- The city council in Honolulu passed a law last week making it illegal for anyone to smoke in a vehicle when someone under the age of 18 is inside.

Violators of the law will be subject to a $100 for a first offense, $200 for a second offense if within one year and $500 for a third offense if within a year.

"Police officers would be on the lookout for people smoking in vehicles," Honolulu Council Chairman Rod Menor said.

The new law also applies to electronic cigarettes.

Similar laws have been passed in other areas of Hawaii.

Eight other states -- Arkansas, California, Louisiana, Maine, Oregon, Utah, Vermont and Virginia -- already have statewide bans on smoking in vehicles with minors or children present.

According to a 2012 study published in Pediatrics, 48 percent of parents who smoke said they smoked in their vehicle with their children present.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories