Obama nominates 4 for Cabinet

Jan. 22, 2013 at 5:52 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
| License Photo

WASHINGTON, Jan. 22 (UPI) -- U.S. President Barack Obama Tuesday sent the Senate four Cabinet nominations in the first step to reshape his administration for his second term.

The names were among 16 sent for approval and had been announced earlier.

Obama nominated John Brennan to head the Central Intelligence Agency, replacing David Petraeus, who resigned amid revelations of an affair with his biographer; former Sen. Chuck Hagel, R-Neb., to replace Defense Secretary Leon Panetta; Sen. John Kerry, D-Mass., to be secretary of state, replacing Hillary Clinton, and Jacob Lew to replace Timothy Geithner as treasury secretary.

He also nominated Lew to the U.S. representative at the European Bank for Reconstruction and Development, the International Monetary Fund, the International Bank for Reconstruction and Development and the Inter-American Development Bank -- posts also being vacated by Geithner.

Also nominated were:

-- Sylvia M. Becker, to the Foreign Claims Settlement Commission and the Foreign Claims Settlement Commission,

-- Robert F. Cohen Jr. to the Federal Mine Safety and Health Review Commission,

-- Richard J. Engler to the Chemical Safety and Hazard Investigation Board,

-- Alan F. Estevez to be a principal deputy undersecretary of defense,

-- Christopher J. Meade to be general counsel for Treasury,

-- David Medineas chairman of the Privacy and Civil Liberties Oversight Board,

-- Carol Waller Pope to the Federal Labor Relations Authority,

-- William B. Schultz as general counsel for the Department of Health and Human Services,

-- Jeffrey Shell to be chairman of the Broadcasting Board of Governors,

-- Frederick Vollrath to be an assistant secretary of defense,

-- Derek Anthony West to be associate attorney general, and

-- Jenny R. Yang to the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories