5 nations elected to U.N. Security Council

UNITED NATIONS, Oct. 12 (UPI) -- The United Nations General Assembly Tuesday quickly elected five countries to serve two-year terms on the Security Council.

The new members are Colombia, Germany, India, Portugal and South Africa. Beginning in January, they will replace Austria, Japan, Mexico, Turkey and Uganda.


The United Nations said in a release Colombia, India and South Africa ran unopposed and were elected in the first round of balloting.

The two seats in the Western European and Other States category were contested by Germany, Portugal and Canada. Germany garnered one seat in the first round. Canada then withdrew, allowing Portugal to win the remaining seat.

The five newly elected Security Council members will join Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Gabon, Lebanon and Nigeria, whose terms expire at the end of 2011. The five permanent members are China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States.

It isn't always so easy for U.N. members to pick new members to the Security Council. The longest election ever held took place between Oct. 26, 1979, and Jan. 7, 1980, when it took 155 rounds of voting before Colombia and Cuba withdrew and Mexico joined the council.

Latest Headlines