Advertisement

New Hampshire repeals abortion law

CONCORD, N.H., June 30 (UPI) -- New Hampshire is the first state to repeal a law requiring parents to be notified 48 hours before a minor has an abortion, say abortion-rights activists.

Gov. John Lynch Friday endorsed the state legislature's decision to repeal the unenforceable 2003 law, the Nashua (N.H.) Telegraph reported Saturday.

Advertisement

"I strongly believe parents should be involved in these decisions, providing important support and guidance," Lynch said. "Unfortunately, that is not possible in every case.''

Lynch's move was backed by abortion-rights activists but opposed by social conservatives who staged a massive letter campaign to get him to veto the measure.

The 2003 parental notification required a health-care provider to notify at least one parent within 48 hours of an abortion by their child. Planned Parenthood sued before the law took effect and in January 2006, the U.S. Supreme Court unanimously faulted the law for failing to consider a minor who might need an abortion because of a medical emergency.

Latest Headlines

Advertisement
Advertisement

Follow Us

Advertisement