Reid announces Dems' Senate leadership

Nov. 14, 2006 at 1:18 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

WASHINGTON, Nov. 14 (UPI) -- Sen. Harry Reid, who is set to become U.S. Senate majority leader, announced Tuesday the Senate Democratic leadership for the 110th Congress.

Reid, D-Nev., named Sen. Robert Byrd, W.Va., as president pro tem; Sen. Dick Durbin, Ill., as assistant majority leader; Sen. Charles Schumer, N.Y., as vice chairman of the conference and chairman of Campaign Committee; Sen. Patty Murray, Wash., as secretary of the conference; Sen. Byron Dorgan, N.D., as chairman of Policy Committee; Sen. Debbie Stabenow, Mich., as chairwoman of Steering and Outreach Committee; Sen. Jeff Bingaman, N.M, as chairman of Committee Outreach; Sen. Hillary Clinton, N.Y., as vice chairwoman of Committee Outreach; Sen. Blanche Lincoln, Ark., as chairwoman of Rural Outreach; and Sen. Barbara Boxer, Calif., as chief deputy whip.

Reid also named Sen. Thomas Carper, Del.; Sen. Bill Nelson, Fla.; and Sen. Russell Feingold, Wis., as majority whips.

"It's time to move America forward, and this is the team that will do it," Reid said. "We're going to focus on bipartisanship. We're going to lead an open government. And we're going to deliver results. From Iraq to the economy, Americans want change, and the Senate majority -- led by this distinguished, talented, experienced group -- is going to fight for change next Congress."

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories