Israeli Cabinet OKs compensation law

Oct. 24, 2004 at 9:58 AM
share with facebook
share with twitter

JERUSALEM, Oct. 24 (UPI) -- The Israeli Cabinet approved Sunday the Evacuation-Compensation Law to compensate settlers under Prime Minister Ariel Sharon's disengagement plan.

The law gives Sharon the power to issue evacuation orders for the settlements with the Cabinet's approval, provide compensation for the evacuated settlers and set penalties for those who stay in evacuated areas or hinder the evacuation, the Ha'aretz news agency reported Sunday.

Those who voted to approve the bill were: Sharon, Ehud Olmert, Benjamin Netanyahu, Silvan Shalom, Limor Livnat, Gideon Ezra, Tzipi Livni, and Meir Sheetrit from the Likud party, and ministers Yosef Lapid, Avraham Poraz, Eliezer Sandberg, Ilan Shalgi and Yehudit Naot from the Shinui party.

Those voting to oppose the bill were: Likud's Yisrael Katz, Dan Naveh, Uzi Landau and Tzachi Hanegbi as well as Natan Sharansky and Zevulun Orlev of the National Religious Party.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories