Brent Burns, Sidney Crosby, Connor McDavid named finalists for Lindsay Award

By The Sports Xchange  |  May 2, 2017 at 9:04 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
| License Photo

The National Hockey League Players' Association announced that the three finalists for the 2016-17 Ted Lindsay Award are defenseman Brent Burns of the San Jose Sharks, and centers Sidney Crosby of the Pittsburgh Penguins and Connor McDavid of the Edmonton Oilers.

The Ted Lindsay Award is presented annually "to the most outstanding player in the NHL," as voted by fellow members of the NHLPA.

Crosby is vying for his fourth award, while Burns and McDavid would be first-time winners.

Burns played in all 82 regular-season games, leading NHL defenseman in goals (29), points (76), points-per-game (0.93) and game-winning goals (6). His total shots on goal (320) led the league, and he finished ninth overall in league scoring. Burns is the first defenseman to be voted a finalist since Chris Pronger in 1999-00. If selected, he would become only the second defenseman (following Bobby Orr, 1974-75) to receive the award.

Crosby played in 75 regular season games, winning his second Maurice "Rocket" Richard Trophy for scoring the most goals in the NHL (44). He tied for second in both points (89) and even-strength goals (30), while he placed second in points-per-game (1.19) and fifth in power-play goals (14). Crosby is one of six three-time recipients (Guy Lafleur, Wayne Gretzky, Mario Lemieux, Jaromir Jagr, Alexander Ovechkin).

McDavid played in all 82 regular season games, winning his first Art Ross Trophy for scoring the most points (100), while leading the NHL in assists (70), points-per-game (1.22), even-strength assists (45) and even-strength points (71). He is looking to become the third Oilers player (Gretzky, Mark Messier) to receive the award.

The 2016-17 Ted Lindsay Award recipient will be announced June 21 during the 2017 NHL Awards at T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas.

Trending Stories