Greg Holland, Mike Moustakas win 2017 Comeback Player awards

By The Sports Xchange  |  Dec. 1, 2017 at 8:15 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
1 of 2
| License Photo

Colorado Rockies closer Greg Holland and Kansas City third baseman Mike Moustakas have been named the National League and American League Comeback Players of the Year, respectively.

Holland, who missed the entire 2016 season recovering from Tommy John surgery, went 3-6 with a 3.61 ERA and 41 saves for the Rockies. His 41 saves were tied for second-most in the majors last season.

Moustakas slugged a career-high 38 home runs and hit .272 with 85 RBIs last season. He missed most of the 2016 season after sustaining a torn anterior cruciate ligament in his right knee after colliding with teammate Alex Gordon pursuing a fly ball in a late-May game.

Both Holland and Moustakas are free agents. They are former teammates from Kansas City.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories