Pro golfer throws putter cover at caddie before firing him

By Alex Butler  |  Jan. 25, 2018 at 2:07 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

Jan. 25 (UPI) -- Web.com Tour golfer Rhein Gibson threw his head cover at his caddie before firing him this week in the Bahamas.

Gibson was playing in the Bahamas Great Abaco Classic at the Abaco Club on Winding Bay. He finished in third place.

The Australian trailed by one shot heading into the 72nd hole of the tournament. He hooked his second shot on the par-5 into a hazard. That's when caddie Brandon Davis picked the ball up, before Gibson could reach it. Officials assessed Gibson with a one-shot penalty for picking up the ball without a player's authority.

He had a chance to chip in for birdie and force a playoff, but instead carded a bogey. The third place finish meant a difference of $12,000 in prize money, because he didn't finish tied for second place.

Gibson was caught on camera tossing his putter cover at Davis. The caddie later posted a video saying he was fired.

Davis said that he told Gibson that the ball was underneath two rocks. Davis then said Gibson stopped looking for the ball and went back to his bag.

Web.com Tour rules official Jim Duncan disputed Davis' account of what happened.

"Contrary to what Brandon said, I did not find the ball," Duncan told the Golf Channel. "[Gibson] was kind of looking in the high grass or whatever, and I turned around and said to Rhein that we had found the ball. And the caddie had actually sort of gotten behind me, and Rhein's now walking toward me, and I turn around and that's when [Davis] picked the ball up."

"And before I can even say a word, now Rhein goes, 'Well, I guess I can't play it now.'"

Canadian Adam Svensson won the tournament, finishing 17-under-par.

"Unfortunately my caddy was involved with a ruling on the 18th that caused me to fall from t2 to 3rd," Gibson tweeted Wednesday.

"My actions were less then professional and I apologize to my caddy and those that took offense to my behaviors."

Davis maintains that his actions were allowed, according to the rulebook.

"I was the caddy...the rules official screwed up, nothing wrong with what I did," Davis tweeted Wednesday. "Decision 26.1/9. Unfortunate all around."

Davis said he was "fired on the spot," according to the Golf Channel.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories
Loading...