Frank Beamer, Mack Brown headline 2018 College Football Hall of Fame class

By The Sports Xchange
Frank Beamer, Mack Brown headline 2018 College Football Hall of Fame class
Former Virginia Tech Hokies head coach Frank Beamer celebrates winning the 75th annual FedEx Orange Bowl game 20-7 at Dolphin Stadium in Miami on January 1, 2009. File photo by Martin Fried/UPI | License Photo

Frank Beamer and Mack Brown were among the 13 players and coaches selected to the 2018 College Football Hall of Fame on Monday.

The deep class also includes 1997 Heisman Trophy recipient Charles Woodson of Michigan (1995-97) along with Miami safety Ed Reed (1998-2001) and Georgia Tech receiver Calvin Johnson (2004-06).


Also included in the 10-player, three-coach class are the following: Rice running back Trevor Cobb (1989-92); Penn State quarterback Kerry Collins (1991-94); Montana quarterback Dave Dickenson (1992-95); Illinois linebacker Dana Howard (1991-94); Temple running back Paul Palmer (1983-86); Georgia offensive tackle Matt Stinchcomb (1995-98); Nebraska offensive lineman Aaron Taylor (1994-97) and former Austin College and Northwest Missouri State coach Mel Tjeerdsma (1984-2010).

The class was unveiled in Atlanta, site of the College Football Playoff national championship game between Alabama and Georgia.

RELATED College Football Playoff title game: Alabama's Nick Saban to face former assistant Kirby Smart

All honorees officially will be inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame on Dec. 4 in New York.

"We are extremely proud to announce the 2018 College Football Hall of Fame Class," College Football Hall of Famer and National Football Foundation chairman Archie Manning said in a statement. "Each of these men has established himself among the absolute best to have ever played or coached the game, and we look forward to immortalizing their incredible accomplishments."


Brown won 244 games in a 30-year head coaching career at four schools that included 16 seasons and a national championship at Texas in 2005.

RELATED College Football Playoff: Quarterback storylines at heart of title game

Beamer took over the Virginia Tech program in 1987 and led the Hokies to a BCS championship game appearance in 1999. His 280 victories rank sixth in FBS history.

Woodson, who won a national championship with the Wolverines in 1997, won the Walter Camp Award, Bronko Nagurski Trophy, Chuck Bednarik Award and Jim Thorpe Award in addition to the Heisman.

Reed played safety for the Hurricanes and aided in the club winning the national championship in 2001.

RELATED College Football Playoff: President Donald Trump to attend championship

Johnson used his size to become the greatest receiver in Georgia Tech history. The Biletnikoff Award winner as the top receiver in 2006, Johnson still holds school records for receiving yards, touchdown receptions and total 100-yard games.

Cobb won the Doak Walker as the country's best running back and holds most of the Owls' school rushing records.

Collins led the Nittany Lions to an unbeaten season in 1994 and finished fourth in the Heisman voting.

Dickenson earned the 1994 Division I-AA player of the year honors while Howard was the Butkus Award win that year as the best linebacker.


Palmer finished second in the Heisman voting in 1986, Stinchcomb was named the SEC's most outstanding blocker in 1998 and Taylor was an offensive lineman on three Nebraska national championship teams.

Latest Headlines


Follow Us