Heisman winner Baker Mayfield accepts Senior Bowl invitation

By The Sports Xchange  |  Dec. 22, 2017 at 3:53 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
| License Photo

Heisman Trophy winner Baker Mayfield accepted his invitation to the 2018 Senior Bowl in Mobile, Ala.

Mayfield will be the first Heisman winner to attend the Senior Bowl since Florida quarterback Tim Tebow in 2010. He is the seventh quarterback to accept an invitation to the game, which will be played next month on Jan. 27.

"Baker is known for his competitive personality, so it's not a surprise that he would want to be in Mobile to showcase his abilities and leadership qualities," said Phil Savage, the Senior Bowl executive director.

"And, it's exciting for the Reese's Senior Bowl to have a Heisman Trophy winner in our game."

Mayfield completed a nation-best 71 percent of his passes during his Heisman season, throwing for 4,340 yards with 41 touchdowns to just five interceptions. He led Oklahoma to a third consecutive Big 12 title and into the College Football Playoff for the second straight year as the No. 2 Sooners challenge No. 3 Georgia in the Rose Bowl on New Year's Day.

In addition to the Heisman, Mayfield also won the Maxwell Award and the Davey O'Brien Award this season.

Here is a full list of accepted invitations:


Kurt Benkert, Virginia

Luke Falk, Washington State

Kyle Lauletta, Richmond

Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma

Mason Rudolph, Oklahoma State

Brandon Silvers, Troy

Mike White, Western Kentucky


Kalen Ballage, Arizona State

Royce Freeman, Oregon

Rashaad Penny, San Diego State

Ito Smith, Southern Mississippi

Akrum Wadley, Iowa


Dimitri Flowers, Oklahoma

Jaylen Samuels, North Carolina State

Micah Kiser, Virginia


Marcel Ateman, Oklahoma State

Braxton Berrios, Miami

Darren Carrington, Utah

D.J. Chark, LSU

Michael Gallup, Colorado State

Allen Lazard, Iowa State

Anthony Miller, Memphis

J'Mon Moore, Missouri

Jaleel Scott, New Mexico State

James Washington, Oklahoma State


Adam Breneman, UMass

Tyler Conklin, Central Michigan

Troy Fumagalli, Wisconsin

Mike Gesicki, Penn State

Dallas Goedert, South Dakota State

Chris Herndon IV, Miami

Durham Smythe, Notre Dame

Ian Thomas, Indiana


Mason Cole, Michigan

Austin Corbett, Nevada

Frank Ragnow, Arkansas


Will Hernandez, UTEP

Skyler Phillips, Idaho State

Wyatt Teller, Virginia Tech

Sean Welsh, Iowa

Isaiah Wynn, Georgia


Alex Cappa, Humboldt State

Tyrell Crosby, Oregon

Desmond Harrison, West Georgia

Cole Madison, Washington State

Chukwuma Okorafor, Western Michigan

Brandon Parker, North Carolina A&T

Timon Parris, Stony Brook

Martinas Rankin, Mississippi State


Andrew Brown, Virginia

Marcus Davenport, UTSA

Duke Ejiofor, Wake Forest

Kylie Fitts, Utah

Jalyn Holmes, Ohio State

Tyquan Lewis, Ohio State

Kemoko Turay, Rutgers


B.J. Hill, North Carolina State

Maurice Hurst, Michigan

Justin Jones, North Carolina State

Derrick Nnadi, Florida State

Nathan Shepherd, Fort Hays State


Nick DeLuca, North Dakota State

Micah Kiser, Virginia

Darius Leonard, South Carolina State

Mike McCray, Michigan

Skai Moore, South Carolina

Ogbannia Okoronkwo, Oklahoma

Tre' Williams, Auburn


Davin Bellamy, Georgia

Garret Dooley, Wisconsin

Marquis Haynes, Ole Miss

Harold Landry, Boston College

Uchenna Nwosu, USC

Fred Warner, Brigham Young


Christian Campbell, Penn State

Duke Dawson, Florida

Danny Johnson, Southern

Taron Johnson, Weber State

Michael Joseph, Dubuque

Kameron Kelly, San Diego State

Kamrin Moore, Boston College

Siran Neal, Jacksonville State

Darius Phillips, Western Michigan

M.J. Stewart, North Carolina

Chandon Sullivan, Georgia State

D'Montre Wade, Murray State

Isaac Yiadom, Boston College


Marcus Allen, Penn State

Quin Blanding, Virginia

Trayvon Henderson, Hawaii

Tray Matthews, Auburn

Jeremy Reaves, South Alabama

Armani Watts, Texas A&M


Michael Badgley (PK), Miami

Tanner Carew (LS), Oregon

Daniel Carlson (PK), Auburn

Ike Powell (LS), Auburn

Johnny Townsend (P), Florida

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories