Oklahoma Sooners quarterback Baker Mayfield wins Walter Camp award

By The Sports Xchange  |  Dec. 7, 2017 at 7:45 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
| License Photo

Oklahoma senior quarterback Baker Mayfield was selected as the Walter Camp Player of the Year, the Walter Camp Football Foundation announced Thursday.

Mayfield, the Big 12 Conference Offensive Player of the Year, is the favorite to win the Heisman Trophy on Saturday.

The other finalists were Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson and three running backs -- Penn State's Saquon Barkley, Stanford's Bryce Love and San Diego State's Rashaad Penny. Jackson was the 2016 winner.

Mayfield has passed for 4,340 yards and 41 touchdowns while leading the Sooners (12-1) into the College Football Playoff. Oklahoma will face Georgia in a semifinal matchup.

Mayfield is the fourth Oklahoma player to win the prestigious award, joining quarterback Josh Heupel (2000) and running backs Billy Sims (1978) and Steve Owens (1969).

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories