Florida State's Jameis Winston wins 2013 Heisman Trophy

Dec. 14, 2013 at 9:23 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
1 of 4
| License Photo

NEW YORK, Dec. 14 (UPI) -- Florida State freshman quarterback Jameis Winston Saturday became the youngest player ever to win college football's Heisman Trophy at age 19.

Winston is only the second freshman to claim the Heisman and the third Seminole following quarterbacks Charlie Ward (1993) and Chris Weinke (2000).

Winston threw for 3,820 yards and 38 touchdowns this season, boosting unbeaten Florida State (13-0) to No. 1 in the Bowl Championship Series rankings for the first time in 14 years.

He will lead the Seminoles against No. 2 Auburn for the national title Jan. 6.

The other finalists included last year's winner, Johnny Manziel of Texas A&M, Boston College running back Andre Williams, Northern Illinois quarterback Jordan Lynch, Alabama quarterback AJ McCarron and Auburn running back Tre Mason.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories