4 Heisman Trophy winners on hall ballot

March 5, 2013 at 1:28 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

NEW YORK, March 5 (UPI) -- Heisman Trophy winners Eric Crouch, Ron Dayne, Vinny Testaverde and Danny Wuerffel are among the 77 players on the ballot for the College Football Hall of Fame.

In addition to the more than six dozen players, five coaches are on this year's ballot. The coaches include Bill McCartney, who coached Colorado from 1982-94, helping the Buffaloes to three Big Eight championships.

Other coaches are Jim Carlen, who coached at West Virginia, Texas Tech and South Carolina 1966-81; Wayne Hardin, who coached at Navy and Temple 1959-82; Jack Murphy, who coached Memphis 1958-71; and Darryl Rogers, who coached at five schools, including Michigan State and Arizona State, 1965-84.

Testaverde played for Miami (Fla.) and won the Heisman Trophy in 1986 and Wuerffel won while at Florida in 1996. Dayne won the award at Wisconsin in 1999 and Crouch, from Nebraska, was the 2001 winner.

Other notable players on the ballot are Eric Dickerson, who became a record-setting NFL running back and Kirk Gibson, who had a 16-season major-league baseball career and is the current manager of the Arizona Diamondbacks.

The 2013 induction class is to be announced May 7. Induction ceremonies are scheduled for Dec. 10 in New York.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories