Manziel, Te'o, Klein are Heisman finalists

Dec. 3, 2012 at 7:47 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

NEW YORK, Dec. 3 (UPI) -- Quarterbacks Johnny Manziel of Texas A&M, Collin Klein of Kansas State and Notre Dame linebacker Manti Te'o Monday were named Heisman Trophy finalists.

The 2012 Heisman Trophy award is set be handed out Saturday in New York.

Redshirt freshman Manziel turned in a fabulous year for the Aggies, passing for 3,418 yards and 24 touchdowns while also running for 19 scores en route to 1,181 rushing yards.

No freshman has ever won the award, and neither has a linebacker, but Te'o, a senior, could be the first after intercepting seven passes and leading undefeated Notre Dame's stingy defense as it prepares to compete against Alabama for a national title in the Jan. 7 BCS Championship game.

Senior signal-caller Klein, meanwhile, amassed 2,490 aerial yards and 15 touchdowns for the Wildcats, who will play Oregon in the Fiesta Bowl.

Klein also ran for 22 touchdowns on his way to 890 rushing yards for the Big 12 Conference champs.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories