Luck wins Camp, Maxwell awards

Dec. 8, 2011 at 11:24 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
| License Photo

ORLANDO, Fla., Dec. 8 (UPI) -- Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck won two of college football's top awards Thursday while Baylor's Robert Griffin III took home a major honor as well.

Luck and Griffin are two of the finalists for the sport's top award, the Heisman Trophy, which will be handed out Saturday in New York.

At the annual football awards ceremony held at Walt Disney World, Luck was given the Walter Camp Award. That honor goes to the player of the year as voted by coaches and sports information directors.

Luck also won the Maxwell Award, which is given to the year's "outstanding player" as selected by the media.

Luck threw for 3,170 yards and a school-record 35 touchdowns this season. He will lead Stanford to a Fiesta Bowl meeting with Oklahoma State.

Griffin was a finalist for the Walter Camp Award, but had to be satisfied with winning the Davey O'Brien Award as the nation's leading quarterback. Luck was nominated for that honor.

Griffin piled up 3,998 yards and 36 touchdowns through the air while running for 644 yards and nine more scores. He led the nation in passing efficiency at 193.21.

Other honors handed out Thursday included:

Chuck Bednarik Award (top defensive player) -- Cornerback Tyrann Mathieu, LSU.

Jim Thorpe Award (top defensive back) -- Morris Claiborne, LSU.

Outland Trophy (top interior offensive lineman) -- Barrett Jones, Alabama.

Doak Walker Award (top running back) -- Trent Richardson, Alabama.

Lou Groza Award (top place kicker) -- Randy Bullock, Texas A&M.

Ray Guy Award (top punter) -- Ryan Allen, Louisiana Tech.

John Mackey Award (top tight end) -- Dwayne Allen, Clemson.

Biletnikoff Award (top receiver) -- Justin Blackmon, Oklahoma State.

Dave Rimington Trophy (top center) -- David Molk, Michigan.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories