NCAA returns tournament games back to North Carolina

By The Sports Xchange  |  April 18, 2017 at 3:01 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
| License Photo

The NCAA awarded men's basketball subregionals to North Carolina in 2020 and 2021 on Tuesday after the state recently repealed controversial law HB2.

The NCAA awarded first and second round games to Greensboro in 2020 and the same two rounds to Raleigh in 2021.

During the 2016-17 academic year, the NCAA pulled seven championship events out of North Carolina due to the bathroom bill that required individuals to use the bathroom that corresponded with the sex listed on their birth certificates at public facilities.

The most noteworthy loss was Greensboro being stripped of the 2017 subregional. Those first and second round games were moved to Greenville, S.C.

North Carolina was awarded 10 different NCAA Division I events on Tuesday. The state also landed five Division II events and eight in Division III.

The state also has a previously scheduled men's basketball subregional in 2018 in Charlotte.

NCAA president Mark Emmert had indicated earlier this month that North Carolina would again be under consideration after the repeal of the law.

The NCAA also announced that Dayton will continue to host the First Four through at least 2022.

The NCAA previously selected the following sites to host Final Fours: San Antonio (2018), Minneapolis (2019), Atlanta (2020), Indianapolis (2021) and New Orleans (2022).

Topics: Mark Emmert
Trending Stories