Missouri's Haith voted Coach of the Year

March 19, 2012 at 3:03 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
| License Photo

ST. LOUIS, March 19 (UPI) -- Missouri's Frank Haith was named the U.S. Basketball Writers Association's Coach of the Year Monday.

Haith is to receive the award March 30 in New Orleans. Other awards to be given at the ceremony include Player of the Year, which will go to Kentucky's Anthony Davis. That honor was also announced Monday.

Haith, in his first season with Missouri, led the Tigers to a school record with 27 regular-season wins. Missouri won the Big 12 Conference Tournament, its final appearance at that event since the Tigers are joining the Southeastern Conference next season.

Missouri's season came to a surprisingly quick end Friday when the Tigers, seeded No. 2 in the West Region of the NCAA Division I tournament, were upset by Norfolk State. Missouri finished with a 30-5 mark.

Before taking over at Missouri, Haith coached at Miami (Fla.) for six seasons, building a 129-101 record.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories