Auto Racing Glance

By The Sports Xchange  |  Oct. 18, 2017 at 5:34 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
| License Photo

MONSTER ENERGY NASCAR CUP SERIES: HOLLYWOOD CASINO 400 (267 laps, 400.5 miles around a 1.5-mile oval), Kansas Speedway; Kansas City, Kan.

TV: Sunday, 3 p.m. ET -- NBCSN (Radio: Motor Racing Network, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio Channel 90).

THIS WEEK: This will be the sixth race of the 10-race NASCAR Cup playoffs, as well as the elimination race at the end of the second round. When the race is over, the four lowest-ranked drivers in the standings will be eliminated from advancing to the Round of 8 third round, which starts on Oct. 29 at Martinsville (Va.) Speedway. ... This will be the 24th Cup race held at Kansas Speedway. Kevin Harvick won this race last fall, while Martin Truex Jr. won this past May's race there. ... Brad Keselowski won this past Sunday's race at Talladega, his third victory of the season. With the win, Keselowski earned an automatic berth into the Round of 8. ... Here's the Cup point standings after Talladega: Martin Truex Jr. (3,120 points), Brad Keselowski (3,101), Kyle Larson (3,096), Kevin Harvick (3,089), Denny Hamlin (3,088), Chase Elliott (3,087), Ryan Blaney (3,076), Jimmie Johnson (3,074), Kyle Busch (3,067), Matt Kenseth (3,066), Ricky Stenhouse Jr. (3,052) and Jamie McMurray (3,045).

NASCAR XFINITY SERIES: KANSAS LOTTERY 300 (200 laps, 300 miles around a 1.5-mile oval), Kansas Speedway; Kansas City, Kan.

TV: Saturday, 3 p.m. ET -- NBC (Radio: Motor Racing Network, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio Channel 90).

THIS WEEK: The Xfinity Series was off last weekend. ... Alex Bowman earned his first career NASCAR win in the most recent race nearly two weeks ago at Charlotte. Sam Hornish Jr. finished second while Ryan Blaney was third. ... Bowman will replace Dale Earnhardt Jr. in the No. 88 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet in the 2018 NASCAR Cup Series. ... The Charlotte race was the final race of the first round of the Xfinity playoffs. Four drivers were eliminated from advancing to the second round at Kansas. Those eliminated were Brendan Gaughan, Michael Annett, Blake Koch and Jeremy Clements. ... William Byron (3,026) leads the Xfinity Series, followed by Justin Allgaier (3,023) standings, Elliott Sadler (3,026), Daniel Hemric (3,009), Cole Custer (3,007), Brennan Poole (3,006), Ryan Reed (3,005) and Matt Tifft (3,004).

NASCAR CAMPING WORLD TRUCK SERIES: The series is off this weekend. The next race will be the Texas Roadhouse 200 on Oct. 28 at Martinsville Speedway.

THIS WEEK: Parker Kligerman won last Saturday's race at Talladega Superspeedway, followed by Christopher Bell, Myatt Snider, Grant Enfinger and Austin Cindric. ... The race at Talladega was a first-round elimination race, eliminating Chase Briscoe and Kaz Grala, leaving just six Trucks left to contend for the championship. ... Christopher Bell is No. 1 in the point standings (3,047 points), followed by defending series champ Johnny Sauter (3,027), Matt Crafton (3,014), John Hunter Nemechek (3,014), Ben Rhodes (3,013) and Austin Cindric (3,007).

NATIONAL HOT ROD ASSOCIATION: The series is off this weekend. The next race is the NHRA Toyota Nationals (Oct. 26-29) at The Strip At Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

THIS WEEK: Winners of this past Sunday's AAA Texas NHRA FallNationals at Texas Motorplex were: Brittany Force (Top Fuel), Robert Hight (Funny Car), Jason Line (Pro Stock) and Eddie Krawiec (Pro Stock Motorcycle). ... After joining the team earlier this year, Shawn Langdon will remain with Kalitta Motorsports for next season, but will shift from Top Fuel to Funny Car for the first time in his career. ... Here are the updated point standings: Top Fuel -- Steve Torrence (2,465 points), Brittany Force (2,408), Doug Kalitta (2,389), Antron Brown (2,360), Leah Pritchett (2,285), Tony Schumacher (2,273), Clay Millican (2,268), Shawn Langdon (2,193), Terry McMillen (2,147) and Scott Palmer (2,137); Funny Car -- Ron Capps (2,495 points), Robert Hight (2,471), Courtney Force (2,324), Jack Beckman (2,309), Matt Hagan (2,269), John Force (2,252), Tommy Johnson Jr. (2,224), Tim Wilkerson (2,206), J.R. Todd (2,199) and Cruz Pedregon (2,128); Pro Stock -- Greg Anderson (2,471 points), Bo Butner (2,456), Jason Line (2,441), Tanner Gray (2,360), Drew Skillman (2,301), Erica Enders (2,252), Allen Johnson (2,183), Jeg Coughlin Jr. (2,180), Chris McGaha (2,154) and Vincent Nobile (2,052); Pro Stock Motorcycle -- Eddie Krawiec (2,506 points), L.E. Tonglet (2,399), Andrew Hines (2,364), Jerry Savoie (2,360), Scotty Pollacheck (2,330), Matt Smith (2,313), Hector Arana Jr. (2,297), Karen Stoffer (2,200), Angie Smith (2,174) and Joey Gladstone (2,169).

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories