Clemson's Dabo Swinney repeats as 'Bear' Bryant Coach of the Year

By The Sports Xchange  |  Jan. 12, 2017 at 2:04 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter
| License Photo

Clemson's Dabo Swinney saw his great week get even better on Wednesday after being named the 2016 recipient of the Paul "Bear" Bryant Coach of the Year award.

Swinney, who also won last year's award, vanquished Bryant's former team (Alabama) in the national championship on Monday.

Swinney is just the second coach to win the award on multiple occasions since its inception in 1986, joining Boise State's Chris Petersen (2006, 2009).

Swinney guided the Tigers to back-to-back national championship appearances and posted a 28-2 mark over that stretch.

Crimson Tide coach Nick Saban, who saw his team drop a 35-31 decision to Clemson in the title game, was also a finalist for the award. Paul Chryst (Wisconsin), P.J. Fleck (Western Michigan), James Franklin (Penn State), Clay Helton (USC), Dana Holgorsen (West Virginia), Mike MacIntyre (Colorado) and Bob Stoops (Oklahoma) were also finalists.

Trending Stories