Alabama's Derrick Henry wins Walter Camp, Maxwell awards

The Sports Xchange

Alabama running back Derrick Henry, considered the favorite for the Heisman Trophy, won the Walter Camp Award and Maxwell Award as college football honors were handed out Thursday night in Atlanta.

The Camp and Maxwell awards are given to the best college football player in the country.


The last two Walter Camp winners, Marcus Mariota and Jameis Winston, went on to win the Heisman. Henry leads the nation in rushing yards and touchdowns this season and helped the Crimson Tide reach the national semifinals.

The other finalists for the Camp award were Iowa cornerback Desmond King, Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield, Stanford running back Christian McCaffrey and Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson.

RELATED Katherine Webb, AJ McCarron expecting first child, a boy

McCaffrey and Watson were the other candidates for the Maxwell Award.

Henry also earned the Doak Walker Award as the top running back. The only other Crimson Tide player to capture the Doak Walker award was Trent Richardson four years ago.

Watson was named the winner of the Davey O'Brien Award that goes to the best quarterback in college football. He became the first Clemson player to receive the award.

RELATED Alabama may have discriminated against blacks by closing drivers license offices

King took the Jim Thorpe Award as the top defensive back.

Clemson's Dabo Swinney was honored as coach of the year after guiding the Tigers to a 13-0 record, an ACC championship and a berth in the national semifinals against Oklahoma.

The Biletnikoff Award to the nation's top receiver went to Baylor's Corey Coleman, the first Bears player to claim the honor.

RELATED Heisman Trophy: Derrick Henry, Christian McCaffrey, Deshaun Watson named finalists

Alabama senior Ryan Kelly won the Rimington Trophy as the top center. Kelly is the second Crimson Tide player to win the Rimington Award, which has been presented since 2000.

Arkansas' Hunter Henry received the John Mackey Award as the top tight end and Utah's Tom Hackett won the Ray Guy Award as the best punter for the second straight year.

Guard Joshua Garnett became the first Stanford player to win the Outland Trophy as the country's best interior lineman.

UCLA's Ka'imi Fairbairn earned the Lou Groza Award as the country's best kicker.

Temple linebacker Tyler Matakevich made history when he received the Chuck Bednarik Award as the nation's top defensive player. He is the first player from a Group of 5 school (the smaller FBS conferences) to receive the honor.


Michigan State's game-ending special teams touchdown that beat rival Michigan was selected the play of the year in a fan vote.

Concordia University defensive lineman Hank Goff captured the Disney Spirit Award. A former Marine who saw combat in Afghanistan, he counsels others, who, like himself, have dealt with post-combat trauma and post-traumatic stress disorder.

Latest Headlines