Bradley Wiggins left out of 2014 Tour de France

By The Sports Network June 27, 2014 at 8:11 AM
share with facebook
share with twitter

Bradley Wiggins will not ride for Team Sky in this year's Tour de France.

Wiggins, the 2012 Tour de France champion, will miss cycling's most prestigious event for the second straight year. He was unable to compete last year because of health issues and Team Sky teammate Christopher Froome became the second British rider to win the Tour de France.

"It has been a golden decade for cycling. Bradley Wiggins lies at the heart of a lot of that success, and although he has not been selected for this race he is still a key member of Team Sky and a great champion," team principal Sir Dave Brailsford said.

Froome will lead the nine-man team and will be joined by: Richie Porte, Geraint Thomas, Mikel Nieve, Bernhard Eisel, Vasil Kiryienka, David Lopez, Danny Pate and Xabier Zandio.

Wiggins won the Tour of California earlier this year and is a three-time Olympic individual gold medal winner.


Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories