Ryan Miller, Patrick Kane among U.S. Olympic hockey picks

Jan. 1, 2014 at 6:56 PM
share with facebook
share with twitter

ANN ARBOR, Mich., Jan. 1 (UPI) -- Goalie Ryan Miller, MVP of the 2010 silver medalists, and high-scoring Patrick Kane were among those selected to the U.S. men's Olympic hockey team Wednesday.

Miller, of the Buffalo Sabres, backstopped the U.S. team to the championship game of the Vancouver Winter Olympics before falling to Canada 3-2 in overtime.

The Chicago Blackhawks' Kane is the reigning Conn Smythe Trophy winner as the NHL's most valuable player.

The pair were among 13 Olympic veterans chosen for the 25-player squad for next month's Sochi games unveiled by General Manager David Poile after the NHL's 2014 Winter Classic game in Ann Arbor, Mich.

"We're fortunate to have probably the deepest talent pool we've ever had in our country and that made for some very difficult decisions," Poile said.

Forwards making the team include David Backes, Dustin Brown, Ryan Callahan, Ryan Kesler, Phil Kessel, James van Riemsdyk, T.J. Oshie, Joe Pavelski, Max Pacioretty, Zach Parise, Paul Stastny, Derek Stepan and Blake Wheeler.

The defensive corps comprises Ryan Suter, Kevin Shattenkirk, Brooks Orpik, Ryan McDonagh, Paul Martin, Cam Fowler, Justin Faulk and John Carlson.

Goalies Jimmy Howard and Jonathan Quick were also named.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories