Eric Nadel selected to receive baseball's Frick Award

Dec. 11, 2013 at 11:00 AM
share with facebook
share with twitter

LAKE BUENA VISTA, Fla., Dec. 11 (UPI) -- Eric Nadel, who has broadcast Texas Rangers games on radio since 1979, has been selected to receive the Baseball Hall of Fame Ford C. Frick Award.

The Frick Award is given each year to recognize major contributions for baseball broadcasting.

Nadel, 62, completed his 19th season as lead announcer for Rangers' games on radio this year. He had been on the broadcast team for 16 years before that. His signature call of "That ball is history" on home runs has become an important part of Rangers' broadcasts.

"Eric Nadel's play-by-play has entertained Rangers fans across the Lone Star State and throughout the Southwest during warm Texas nights since 1979," said Jeff Idelson, president of the National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum.

"From Nolan Ryan's memorable milestones to American League Championship clinching moments, Eric's crisp, energetic and enthusiastic delivery of Texas Rangers baseball has transcended multiple generations for 35 seasons."

Other finalists for the latest award included Joe Castiglione, Jacques Doucet, Ken Harrelson, Bill King, Duane Kuiper, Eduardo Ortega, Mike Shannon, Dewayne Staats and Pete Van Wieren.

Nadel's award will be part of Hall of Fame ceremonies July 26. Already announced for induction in the hall are former managers Bobby Cox, Tony La Russa and Joe Torre. Any former players voted for 2014 induction are to be announced Jan. 8.

Related UPI Stories
Trending Stories